Skip to content

Do You Want To See Me Crawl Across The Floor To You?

November 20, 2011

I must be doing something wrong.

That’s got to be it. I had people visiting the blogs, I had lots of stuff to talk about completely aside from book pimping, I broke personal records for hits on the writing blogs, and yet here I am, one week after the best day of this blog’s life, and I seem to be losing momentum.

Correction: I seem to have lost all momentum.

Okay, done whining. Sorry. Just frustrated. I have no good idea what I’m doing wrong. Except for this right here; this I know is wrong, but can you blame me? In the past nine days, I saw somewhere between 500 and 700 hits (I haven’t done the math yet), and yet not one person has bought the new book, and I’ve sold exactly two copies of the first book, and that’s over a period of a month.

This leads me to conclude two or three things:

1) I have annoyed my readers and friends, who have no interest in reading more of my stuff at any price.

2) I have severely overestimated the attraction of cheap books you can read on your computer, tablet or smartphone.

and 3) I’m not as good as I think I am.

I’ve got a strong urge to just erase this post and go away until i come back with a better idea to write about. However, I think it’s important to be honest to whoever is still reading this blog. I’m unhappy. I don’t blame anyone but myself, but I don’t know what I did wrong, so I’m upset and I don’t understand how to fix it, which makes me sad and angry at the same time. *sigh*

So instead, I’ll post it, but then I’m not going to bother linking this on the social networks, because really, I’d much rather that, if you’re reading this, you be one of the very few who actually wants to be here, rather than feeling you’ve been tricked into being here by some clever song title or snappy description that turns out to be something other than what you wanted to read. If you’re reading this, you are welcome here. I wish I knew who you are, so I could thank you personally just for taking the time.

Enough of this. I’ll be back to post something more upbeat in a bit. I hope.

Lee.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

