Skip to content

Day After Day

December 27, 2011

Well, it’s my sister’s birthday today. She’s exactly five years and a day younger than me, which makes her… 26. 😉

After posting my birthday countdown post, I got significantly more readers than I’ve had for a single post in a little while. This leads me to believe that: a) either people really, REALLY liked that bit of lyric in the title; or b) people really, REALLY want to read about my family arguing at midnight.

For the record, almost immediately upon the clock reading 12AM, my sister and mother stopped arguing and settled down, which I guess goes to show you how weird my family actually is. We ended up getting out of there at around 1AM, arriving home a half hour later, and didn’t get to watch A White Christmas after all, which makes it kind of ironic that I wrote the review for it long before failing to get home to rewatch it. Guess it’s a good thing I’ve seen that film a few times, huh? Incidentally, the review hasn’t been edited or posted, so I don’t have a link for you yet.

Okay, so there may be visiting of the sister today, so any high impact writing I may want to do today has to be done before noon, so I’d probably better get to it. I’ve got Stevie Wonder’s ‘Songs In the Key of Life’ playing, and frankly, it’s still a gorgeous album. ‘Confusion’ alone is a masterpiece of brevity and jazz/prog/instrumental/funk fusion. And hey, it’s the album that gives us ‘Sir Duke’, ‘I Wish’, ‘Village Ghetto Land’, ‘Passtime Paradise’, and the lesser known ‘Black Man’, which is as bad-ass funky as the boldly simple title suggests. If you have never actually heard the album before, you owe it to yourself to give it a try. It’s a classic, and osme of his career-defining best.

Okay, enough stalling. Work. Take care, have a great day, and don’t forget, just because some of you are back to work doesn’t mean the holiday spirit has to be mothballed.

Lee.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

