Skip to content

Music Notes

January 14, 2012

Well, the remixes of Kharmic Wheel and Keep On Going sound considerably better, but they’re too quiet. Vocals still have to be rerecorded when my voice is better.

Here It Comes Again sounds just about right, and is at a good volume level. The bass is buzzing a bit, though. Not sure what to think there. I suppose the slide guitar should be rerecorded, but it’s growing on me. Just leaves replacing the keys with real flute and horns, if I can. And I might slap on one more background vocal, if I can get Derrick to do some high notes for me.

I boosted the volume of the first two remixes to acceptable levels, though I’m not happy with the bitrate Audacity defaults to (128), which I can’t seem to adjust. But the mixes sounds all right. Not great, but for the first time, they’re pretty much listenable. Now if only I wasn’t so tired.

Kharmic Wheel 2012
Keep On Going
Here It Comes Again

Mind you, the vocals still need work… *sigh*

Anyway, I’m not saying these are done. They’re just balanced better and the sounds are panned in the right place, more or less, so the separation works for a change. The mixes aren’t as muddy as they used to be, and really, that’s all I wanted. The parts are still largely flawed, and I’m hopeless at getting them all mastered properly so they sound like a cohesive album, but I’m learning as I go.

In other news, I was in a car accident tonight. One of our passengers hurt her back, and there is the possibility of one or two cases of whiplash, but there were no severe injuries or fatalities, and the car that hit us took virtually all of the vehicular damage. I’d say we got lucky, but this was our girlfriend’s fifth car accident in four years, so we’re pretty worried about her. My wife wants to make her a charm to ward off further accidents. I’m not Wiccan, but even I think that’s a good idea, because both of them are.

On the upside, her house is coming along nicely, and we got to have Tally Ho roast beef sandwiches tonight, which are wonderfully decadent. So it’s not all bad news.

And that’s all the news that’s fit to print. Hope you folks had a good day, and enjoy a fine weekend.

Lee.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

