Skip to content

Goodnight Mrs. Calabash…

March 26, 2012
tags:

…wherever you are.

I always liked that line. It’s an old radio sign-off from Jimmy Durante, an address to his deceased wife, Jeanne. It’s a wonderfully warm idea that, even when communicating via mass media, that you can personalise the experience, to let someone know you were thinking of them when you started writing, singing, recording, speaking, or drawing something you wanted to share with the world, but especially with them.

I have a small and relatively quiet readership, of which I personally know maybe a half dozen, tops. I’m actually gathering more readers every day, which is nice. But not knowing most of you makes it difficult to personalise the messages I share here. I’m not sure I’d be any good at addressing every single one of you, but there was an interesting practice, back when I first started out blogging for a wider readership in my LiveJournal days, of posting a list of responses or comments to the readers you knew of.

It would be difficult for me to do that here, because WordPress, though a community of sorts, isn’t as close-knit, and it’s not always feasible for me to spend the afternoon reading everyone’s blogs the way I used to. I’m not rich or famous and I’m pretty seriously underemployed at the moment, but I do have a lot of projects that demand a fair bit of my time, so I don’t get to be as sociable as I used to be on LiveJournal. Comes to that, I wasn’t the most outgoing guy back then, either, unless I was on one of my manic sprees. However, I did post a lot more back then, and I enjoyed chatting with friends, some of whom I’ve lost touch with.

SO HERE’S TODAY’S CHALLENGE: If you’ve read this far, INTRODUCE YOURSELF. I don’t care if your English isn’t great, or if you’re not the sort who normally likes to talk about themselves. You don’t have to tell me your life story, unless you really, really want to. Just say Hi, and maybe tell me a few things about yourself. Do you have a blog? Can I read it? Are you a singleton, or are you married? Got any kids yet? Plans to have kids? Are you a writer, artist or musician? Businessperson? Certified Public Accountant? What do you do to pay the bills? What do you wish you could do instead?

Don’t worry, I won’t pass judgement. I’m in no position to throw stones. I’d just like to get to know who some of you people are. Then maybe one day I’ll be able to dedicate one of these posts to you.

Wherever you are.

Lee.

Meanwhile, for those of you who don’t know me that well:
I make fiction
I make music
I make videos
I make art

2 Comments leave one →
  1. g2-72a6f648a0209ea9ce8c60704a86460a permalink
    March 27, 2012 12:38 pm

    Okay, I’ll bite. Let’s see… first I’m saying hi, as you asked.

    Hi! 🙂

    Here’s the closest thing to a blog I have, at least a site that I update with some regularity, mostly with short stories and updates about my writing: http://www.bouffonbooks.com/

    As you can tell, I’m a writer, aspiring to be fully independent some time soon, so I can completely focus on my writing career without having to worry about other things. I mainly freelance apart from that as a writer and translator (to and from my native language Dutch), so if you know anyone who needs my services… feel free to direct them to me. 🙂

    I’m single and not actively looking to change that, but should the perfect woman read this and fall in love, let me know please. I just hope you (I’m addressing said hypothetical woman) don’t mind that I’m a card-carrying of the 99 percent. If you are too, we’ll have a lot in common. If you’re not, I’m willing to marry you for your money.

    That’s about it. If there’s anything else anyone wants to know, just ask and I might even answer!

Leave a Reply

