Skip to content

Sunrise and Birdsong

May 21, 2012

What’s the Macketeer Cheer?

It’s Sunday night, and I’m home from weeding my mother’s garden. I’m drinking homemade iced coffee. My agent is playing jazz music on her computer. I’m parked in my chair with a plank of polished wood forming a desktop straddling the arms of the chair, and my sister’s old laptop, from which I do much of my writing, perched on top of that. The nails of my right hand, which are still long for playing fingerstyle guitar, have two days of dirt trapped under them. I’m basically tired and ready to spend the night doing as little as possible. I may write for a bit. I may just sit and listen to music or maybe write a review or two. I owe a small number of reviews by now. Time to catch up with the ones I actually have the music or movies for.

There’s still quite a bit of work to do in Mom’s garden, but at least the weeding is done. I may go up there again tomorrow and help out, or I may stay home and record music. There’s quite a lot of that left to do, and about sixteen days left to do it in. Actually, make that about thirteen. I’m hoping to have all of the parts recorded before the final week, so I can focus on remastering the album and making it sound right. I’ve been dabbling too much in amplifying the tracks in my computer, and the results have not been good. Too much distortion in cheap speakers and headphones, so it’s time to dial it back and stick with EQ and separation techniques. People will just have to get up and turn the record up if they want to hear it louder. I don’t have the technology to safely boost my tracks without them turning into a trash can orchestra.

I mentioned to Derrick last night that I want to recruit some new musicians. He asked me who I had in mind. I mentioned a couple of people I was thinking vaguely of. He also mentioned a friend of his that he admitted was a long shot, owing to his wife’s disposition towards us and all of our geeky pursuits. She seems to have gelded him quite completely, which is a shame, because he was quite a respectable guitar player, from what I’ve heard. My friends aren’t much more likely, to tell the truth. It may come down to a good old fashioned audition session. So looking forward to that. The last few went so well (not).

We’ve scouted our immediate environs to see if anyone has an open wireless account we can borrow a cup of internet from, but so far, no such luck. I don’t want to ruin anyone’s bandwidth, but it would be nice to be able to sneak out and fire off my daily post again, even if I can’t do much more than that and checking my email before it’s time to come back inside and get back to work. If I ever get ahead of the game again, I may have to invest in wireless internet for my neighbours, as a pay it forward kind of thing.

So I asked folks if they wanted me to put the album out on time even if it’s not quite ready. I got one vote for doing what makes me happy, and two for waiting until the album is truly ready to go. And all three of those came from LiveJournal. Thank you LJ friends. I’m a little bit disappointed in everyone else, though. I had rather hoped I’d get just a few comments from y FB friends, at least, but no dice. I got two or three likes. That’s not the same thing. That’s like answering a riddle with ‘yes’.

My agent is out scouting around for open wireless again. She doesn’t function well without internet. I may go visit her shortly, once this post is finished, and if so, I’ll have to decide if I’m going to post this message or wait until tomorrow morning.

I think that’s enough fatigued babble for one post. I hope to talk to you folks again soon.

Eddie.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

