Skip to content

Know That Love Surrounds You

February 26, 2013

Early morning. Nothing New in that. I’m sitting with headphones on, listening to Julian Lennon’s Everything Changes album. It never gets old. It even grows on me, really.

I wish I had managed to make my albums sound as polished. It would be nice to feel secure enough in my recorded work to play them for him and get some feedback, if he had the time to spare.

That’s not an imperative. Sadly, I don’t really have that many readers who remember I make music, and few enough of those who actually liked the stuff enough to comment on it. I think that speaks volumes. I’m kind of shying away from music right now, even though I feel songs burbling away in the background. There are projects and plans, but I’ve been reluctant to do any playing, because I’ve got so many things to do, and these are things I haven’t essentially done and received a vote of indifference for.

Well, the books aren’t selling well either, but I still feel pretty good about them, all things considered.

Hmmn. I seem to be a little tired and self-pitying this morning. I apologize. I suspect I need to make some coffee and take some naproxen for my back. I’ll probably be a little less miserable after the back discomfort subsides.

I don’t know what I’m going to work on today. I have to get used to the new work set-up. Dawn (my wife/agent) rearranged the apartment to make it possible for me to use both my easel and my drawing table, and to do writing in the bedroom, so she doesn’t feel the need to leave the apartment every time I sit down to work. Plus, she can use the writing desk set-up for her own purposes if and when Gary and I are working on music. Win/Win.

I haven’t written an album review in weeks. been so busy and tired and kind of frustrated. Starting to suspect my time as an amateur rock critic has come and gone. I kind of peaked in 2011 and it’s been a slow downhill slide since then. I may edit, expand and collect the record reviews as a volume and put them out as an ebook.

Still trying to decide when and why. Some reason is needed, like perhaps the upcoming release of the US version of Everything Changes or something. I was going to do something about Spoons 30th Anniversary of Arias & Symphonies, but I haven’t been able to put together the few bucks needed to purchase it. Money has been so tight lately, my entertainment budget has vanished.

Well, I guess that’s all I’ve got for now. I might come back later today, if and when my back feels better. Thank you for reading.

Lee.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

